Impact of communication in families

Ramblings of an old deafie – or a deafie that rediscovered herself…. or a hearie that became deaf…. it’s not that bad.

I’ve lived a life that’s full…. I lived a life in confusion – until now.

Perhaps I should have a pause for breath, social media has awoken something that deaf people have never had a chance to share… until now…. be it a sign language or a spoken language it doesn’t matter – communication is so important in families….
My friend, I’ll say it clear
I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain
I’ve lived a life that’s full
I traveled each and every highway
And more, much more than this, I did it my way

I am a child of the 60’s. One of the “baby boomers”.

One of a pair of children born to a generation who lived through so much social change. yet social change is happening right before our eyes, even today.

One of this pair supported me. She is an inspiration. She was completely involved in the “Greenham women” – she shaved her head she saw babies being born in tents, she lived in caravans and she went on to become a teacher  – but she never faltered, she lives her life to make sure those who are disadvantaged by society are given her full attention. You will not know her, she is Elexi Earth, she is a name that used to be.
Greenham Women a Legacy

She and I fought all our lives, and now it’s full circle…..

Regrets, I’ve had a few
But then again, too few to mention
I did what I had to do and saw it through without exemption
I planned each charted course, each careful step along the byway
And more, much more than this, I did it my way

But – She happened to be my sister. I didn’t appreciate it at the time. I have to say I was excluded. I was deaf. She is now understanding who I am – and who she is and we have met  – again and we are complete…

Deaf! I hear you say? Well what does deafness do to people? One word – Communication.
there is more – much more…..

Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew
When I bit off more than I could chew
But through it all, when there was doubt
I ate it up and spit it out
I faced it all and I stood tall and did it my way

That was for both of us….. So I tried to be “normal” spent many a year living, bringing up children – so proud of them all. Seeing the sister doing the same – and we did it – we did it our way…

I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried
I’ve had my fill, my share of losing
And now, as tears subside, I find it all so amusing
To think I did all that
And may I say, not in a shy way
Oh, no, oh, no, not me, I did it my way

For what is a man, what has he got?
If not himself, then he has naught
To say the things he truly feels and not the words of one who kneels
The record shows I took the blows and did it my way

Yes, it was my way…

And it was our way – this blog is dedicated to my wonderful, amazing sister.

Elexi Earth.

And for the family we have created – hearing and deaf – and now to the future.

The future will be – amazing. What we thought we disagreed on – was actually nothing more than a divide that deafness can create. Communication.

So next time you ever meet a deaf person, a deaf family member, a deaf colleague, a friend who has lost their hearing, a parent or relative who has suddenly discovered that communication is an issue, – just pause – and think – they need to know what’s happening, include, share, love, pray – and Communicate.

About Suzie

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Cook and Hearing dog owner. Passionate about Equality for deaf and deafblind people. Believes in communication for all and breaking down these barriers, real and perceived. Deafened.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

